Back to Top

...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead Lyrics

Sorted by Album Release Date
(View Sorted by Song Title)
From the Single Heart of Wires

Other Songs A Classic Arts Showcase A Perfect Teenhood A Place to Rest Aged Dolls All White An Ounce Of Prevention Another Morning Stoner Awestruck Back in NYC Baudelaire Bells Of Creation Blight Takes All Bright Young Things Catatonic Caterwaul Clair De Lune Claire de Lune Counting Off The Days Crowning Of A Heart Days Of Being Wild Eight Days Of Hell Fake Fake Eyes Fields Of Coal Flood Of Red Flower Card Games Gargoyle Waiting Gold Heart Mountain Top Queen Directory Gravity Halcyon Days Half Of What Heart In The Hand Of The Matter Heart Is In The Hand Of The Matter Homage How Near How Far Inland Sea Insatiable Insatiable (One) Insatiable (Two) Intelligence Into the Godless Void Isis Unveiled It Was There Let It Dive Life Lost Songs Luna Park Mach Schau Mach Shau Mark David Chapman Mistakes and Regrets Monsoon Naked Sun Novena Without Faith Ode To Isis Open Doors Opera Obscura Pictures Of An Only Child Pinhole Cameras Prince With A Thousand Enemies Relative Ways Richter Scale Madness Sigh Your Children So Divided Source Tags And Codes Spiral Jetty Stand In Silence Sunken Dreams The Best The Far Pavilions The Lost City Of Refuge The Porpoise Song The Rest Will Follow The Spiral Jetty The Summer Of 91 Time and Again Totally Natural Up to Infinity Wasted State Of Mind Weight Of The Sun Weight of the Sun (Or the Post-Modern Prometheus) When We Begin To Steal... Will You Smile Again? Witchs Web Worlds Apart
[Submit a Song]

Back to: A

...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead (often abbreviated as Trail of Dead), are an American alternative rock band from Austin, Texas, formed in 1994. The band's earliest stable lineup consisted of Conrad Keely, Jason Reece, Kevin Allen and Neil Busch, though for most of the band's history Keely and Reece were the core members with other musicians serving for varying lengths of time.

Trail of Dead had a cult following and were known for their energetic and protracted live performances. Between 1998 and 2023, the band released eleven studio albums and five EPs along with one live album and twenty-two singles. The artwork for all of the albums was created by Keely (who is also a painter) using various media. This artwork has recurring mythical and historical themes.

Their latest studio album, XI: Bleed Here Now, was released on July 15, 2022. In February 2023, the band posted on Instagram an image reading "Trail closed" which created rumours that the band had broken up.

Although the band still exists, Conrad Keely later clarified they had no immediate plans to either tour nor make any more music in the traditional sense, citing a disastrous final tour, exhaustion, and the inhospitable state of the music industry towards smaller bands as the main drivers behind their decision.
Final line-up
Conrad Keely - vocals, guitar (1994-2023), piano, keyboards (2010-2020); drums (1994-2005, 2010-2011); bass (1994-1995)
Jason Reece - drums, vocals, guitar (1994-2023); bass (1994-1995)
Alec Padron - bass (2019-2023)
Ben Redman - guitar, drums (2020-2023)
AJ Vincent - keyboards (2020-2023)
John Dowey - guitar (2022-2023)

Former members:
Kevin Allen - guitar (1995-2010)
Neil Busch - bass, vocals (1995-2005)
Danny Wood - bass (2005-2007)
Jay Leo Phillips - bass (2007-2010)
Autry Fulbright II - bass, vocals (2010-2019)
Doni Schroader - percussion, drums (2005-2007)
Aaron Ford - percussion, drums (2007-2010)
Jamie Miller - drums, guitar (2011-2020)
David Longoria - keyboards (2005-2006)
Clay Morris - keyboards (2006-2010)
Name Origin:
According to the band's website, their name is taken from an ancient Mayan ritual chant which showed a similarity to an ancient Egyptian chant. They have also stated that this is a joke.
From: Austin, Texas, U.S.
Genre(s): Alternative rock, post-hardcore, progressive rock, art rock
Active From: 1994-2023 (on hiatus)
No tags yet