Back to Top

Bon Iver Lyrics

[Submit a Song]

Back to: B

Bon Iver (BONE ee-VAIR) is an American indie folk band founded in 2006 by singer-songwriter Justin Vernon. Vernon had originally formed Bon Iver as a solo project, but it eventually became a band consisting of Vernon (vocals, guitar), Sean Carey (drums, keyboards, vocals), Michael Lewis (vocals, baritone guitar, guitar, violin, saxophone), Matthew McCaughan (drums, bass, vocals), Andrew Fitzpatrick (guitar, keyboards, vocals), and Jenn Wasner (guitar, keyboards, vocals)

Vernon released Bon Iver's debut album, For Emma, Forever Ago, independently in July 2007. The majority of the album was recorded while Vernon spent three months isolated in a cabin in western Wisconsin. In 2012, the band won the Grammy Award for Best Alternative Music Album for their eponymous album Bon Iver.
Justin Vernon - vocals, synths, op-1, guitar (2006-present)

Sean Carey - drums, keyboards, vocals (2007-present)

Matthew McCaughan - drums, vocals (2007-present)

Andrew Fitzpatrick - guitar, keyboards, samplers, vocals (2015-present)

Mike Lewis - vocals, saxophone, bass, synth-bass (2011-present)

Jenn Wasner - guitar, keyboards, vocals (2019-present)
Name Origin:
The name "Bon Iver" derives from the French phrase bon hiver ("good winter"), taken from a greeting on Northern Exposure.
From: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, U.S.
Genre(s): Indie folk, indie pop, indie rock, experimental pop, soft rock, folktronica
Active From: 2006-present
No tags yet